Big Piney’s Garrett Formo will replace Laramie’s Kyle Russell on the South Shrine Bowl roster, executive director John Cundall said via email.

Russell had been Laramie’s lone Shrine Bowl selection this year; Formo is the only player from Big Piney on the South roster.

The annual all-star football game will be at 7 p.m. June 14 in Casper.


Travis Jinks of Southeast will be a part of the Shrine Bowl’s South roster when the game is played June 14 in Casper.

Jinks replaces Cokeville’s Brock Teichert, Shrine Bowl Executive Director John Cundall said via email.

The annual all-star football game will kick off at 7 p.m.


Three new players will join the Shrine Bowl this summer, the game’s executive director, John Cundall, said via email.

Wade Gordon of Newcastle and Kodiak French of Wright will join the North team and Trystin Walker will join the South team for the annual all-star football game. They replace Dan Gochenour of Kelly Walsh, Seth Bennett of Meeteetse and Quade Palm of Hanna, respectively.

Cundall also said Michael Engling of Buffalo and Jenna Walker of Douglas will be the certified athletic trainers for the game.

The game is June 14 in Casper.


Riverton’s Austin Patterson and Rocky Mountain’s Joey Jewell have been named to the North team for this summer’s Shrine Bowl.

They replace Cody’s Brandon Hinze and Big Horn’s Connor McCafferty, said John Cundall, the game’s executive director, via email.

The game will be June 14 in Casper.


Three new players have been brought onto the rosters for the 41st annual Shrine Bowl.

Executive Director John Cundall announced Thursday that Chance Miller of Douglas and Clinton Jaure of Cheyenne East will join the South team. They replace Cameron Johnson and Brian Lopez, both of East.

Hulett’s Story Penning will join the North squad, replacing Worland’s Patrick Hunter.

Cundall also announced the student trainers and managers for each team — Rock Springs’ Madison Overy and Douglas’ Brittney Barker as trainers and Pine Bluffs’ Keenan Cozort and Natrona’s Ben Doyle as managers.

The annual all-star football game is June 14 in Casper.


The alternates for the 41st Shrine Bowl, to be played June 14 in Casper, have been named by the respective coaching staffs.

Alternates include:

NORTH: Tyler Fortuna and Seth Moerkerke, Gillette; Story Penning, Hulett; Kooper Adams, Kelly Walsh; Dylan Parke and Josh Seghetti, Natrona; Wade Gordon, Newcastle; Cory Heny, Powell; Austin Patterson, Riverton; Joey Jewell and Jacob Price, Rocky Mountain; Tyler Julian, Sheridan.

SOUTH: Garrett Formo, Big Piney; Preston Goehring, Burns; Clinton Jaure and Ben Groeneweg, Cheyenne East; Seth Harris and Chance Miller, Douglas; Eric Sowers, Evanston; Ryan Martin, Lyman; Trystin Walker, Mountain View; Tate Stinson, Saratoga; Travis Jinks, Southeast; Trace Haderlie, Star Valley.

A player from the alternates list will fill the role if someone on the current roster can’t play in the game. The rosters for the teams were announced last week.


The rosters are set for the 41st annual Shrine Bowl all-star football game, which will be played June 14 in Casper.

In addition to the rosters below, 12 alternates will be selected for each team. Those players will be announced later.

In all, 20 schools are represented on each team.

The North won last year’s game 34-6 and leads the all-time series 19-18-3.

Big Horn: Colter Carzoli, Connor McCafferty.
Buffalo: Jeremia Nicholson.
Burlington: Preston Wardell.
Cody: Brandon Hinze, David Lee.
Dubois: Sterling Baker.
Gillette: Kris Adams, Austin Fort, Bryce Lyman, Billy Williams.
Kelly Walsh: Kirk Durtsche, Jake Geil, Dan Gochenour.
Lander: Jack Mazurie.
Lovell: Hyrum Hopkin, Dillon Pickett.
Meeteetse: Seth Bennett.
Midwest: Cameron Ray.
Natrona: Michael Bailey, Brad Gillis, Tyler Trout, Sam Turner.
Newcastle: Merritt Crabtree.
Powell: Hayden Cragoe, Anthony Lujan, Garrett Lynch, Garrett Michael.
Riverton: Logan Hartbank.
Sheridan: Nick Gill, Justin Orum, Daniel Sessions.
Thermopolis: Kaden Haun.
Upton-Sundance: Lane Carter.
Worland: Patrick Hunter.
Wright: Daniel Magana.

Burns: Mikky Heward, Travis Romsa.
Cheyenne Central: Damon Macleary, Grayson Sipe, Judd Stewart.
Cheyenne East: Shane Brooks, Cameron Johnson, Brian Lopez, Brett Schaeffer, Eric Williams.
Cheyenne South: Adam Haberkorn.
Cokeville: Cody Nate, Brock Teichert.
Douglas: Logan Barker, Garrett Boner, Austyn Matthews, Layne McGuire.
Evanston: Cole Wilkinson.
Glenrock: Devon Parkinson.
Green River: Garrett Wilson.
Hanna: Quade Palm.
Laramie: Kyle Russell.
Lingle: Wyatt Hageman.
Lusk: Hunter Dockery, Matthew VandeBossche.
Lyman: Landen Bradshaw, Tui Magalogo.
Mountain View: Brennan Walk.
Rock Springs: Nick Blume.
Southeast: Wyatt Somsen.
Star Valley: Bryan Burton, Sam Gertsch, Garrett Gregg.
Torrington: Caden Coffelt, Brett Spencer.
Wheatland: Critter Ruwart.


The two Shrine Bowl coaches have set their staffs for the annual all-star football game.

South head coach Matt VandeBossche of Lusk will be joined by Brick Cegelski (Cheyenne Central), Mark Lenhardt (Torrington), Marv Mirich (Burns), Zack Scott (Hanna) and Ryan Nelson (Lusk assistant).

North coach Vic Wilkerson of Gillette will round out his staff with Jim Stringer (Powell), Michael McGuire (Big Horn), Andy Garland (Upton-Sundance), Ken Swieter (Midwest) and Jason Gill (Gillette assistant).

John Cundall, Shrine Bowl executive director, announced the coaching staffs Tuesday.

The coaching staffs will now work on selecting the 36 players for each team. The game will be June 14 in Casper.


Vic Wilkerson of Gillette and Matt VandeBossche of Lusk will be the head coaches for the 41st Shrine Bowl.

The game will be played June 14, 2014, in Casper.

Wilkerson will coach the North team and VandeBossche the South. Wilkerson was head coach for the North team in 2006, while VandeBossche is the Shrine Bowl head coach for the first time. This is the third time a coach from Lusk has led the South — former coach Jerry Fullmer was the South coach twice, in 1987 and 2000 — while Gillette will have a coach lead the North team for the fourth time.

The coaches will assemble their assistant coaching staffs and, together, the staffs will pick the players for the annual all-star football game.

The North, which won last year’s game 34-6, leads the all-time series 19-18-3.