The North squad won its seventh consecutive Shrine Bowl on Saturday, beating the South 29-19 in the 2019 version of the annual all-star football game.

Big Horn’s Kade VanDyken, who finished with 156 receiving yards to end up 12 yards short of the Shrine Bowl record, was named the game’s offensive MVP.

Rawlins’ Damon Taylor was the defensive MVP. He led all defensive players with 10 solo tackles.

The seven-game winning streak for the North is the longest winning streak of either team in Shrine Bowl history. The second-longest streak is the North’s five consecutive victories from 1998-2002, the South’s five straight from 1993-97 and the North’s five straight from 1980-84.

Money raised from Saturday’s game goes to the Shriners Hospital for Children in Salt Lake City.

For more on the history of the Shrine Bowl and its records, click here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post Navigation