The eighth edition of the Wyoming-Nebraska Six-man Shootout all-star football game will be Saturday in Chadron, Nebraska.

Kickoff will be at 6 p.m. on the campus of Chadron State College. The game will be at Chadron this year and for subsequent years after alternating between Wyoming and Nebraska for the first seven years of the game’s iteration.

Wyoming leads the all-time series 4-3, including winning last year’s game 16-14.

Team Wyoming will be led by six members of the state championship team from Farson; that quintet includes Lain Mitchelson, who ran for 1,885 yards and 28 touchdowns, and Clancy Gines, who ran for 1,388 yards and 29 scores. Mitchelson was six-man’s offensive player of the year, while Gines was the defensive player of the year.

The Wyoming squad also includes Guernsey’s Dylan Rose, who led six-man with 2,121 rushing yards and 35 TDs a year ago.

Wyoming’s squad had some late changes as Kaycee coach Tony Rouse and player Hunter Rouse had to withdraw to the game due to another commitment. Farson’s Michael Gribowskas will fill that roster spot, while St. Stephens coach Billy Brost will step in as an assistant coach.

Burlington’s Dontae Garza will not play due to injury but will join the team as a student coach.

Nebraska’s team will include three players who cracked 2,000 yards rushing — A.J. Jenkins of Wilcox-Hildreth, Trent Reed of Hay Springs and Christian Timm of Eustis-Farnam. Jenkins was named the six-man offensive player of the year in Nebraska last year. The team also includes Nebraska’s six-man defensive player of the year, Colton Leslie of Spalding Academy.

Players will arrive in Chadron on Wednesday to prepare for the game and will stay in the CSC dorms. Rosters for the game are:

FARSON: Cortland Barker, Clancy Gines, Michael Gribowskas, Hagan Jones, Lain Mitchelson, Cody Sloan.
GUERNSEY: Austin Albrecht, Dylan Rose.
HANNA: Tylor Goodro.
HULETT: Ethan Dykes.
MEETEETSE: Nick Anderson, Kirwin Johnson.
MIDWEST: Kaleb Smith.
ST. STEPHENS: Vincent Brown, Roberto Hernandez.
SNAKE RIVER: Thomas Duncan.
Coaches: Trip Applequist, Farson, head coach; Curtis Cook, Guernsey; Scott Reed, Farson; Billy Brost, St. Stephens.

: Kutter Rogers.
CODY-KILGORE: Brye Szakas.
DESHLER: Peyton Dubbert, Hutch Finke.
EUSTIS FARNAM: Jordan Fangmeyer, Christian Timm.
HARVARD: Hunter Wilkerson.
HAY SPRINGS: Jarret Pieper, Trent Reed.
HYANNIS: Zane Musgrave.
MCCOOL JUNCTION: Jaden Gonnerman.
ST. EDWARD: Trevor Rasmussen.
SPALDING ACADEMY: Mathew Bloom, Colton Leslie.
WILCOX-HILDRETH: Sidney Gruwell, A.J. Jenkins, Clayton Nichols.

Thanks to coach Applequist for providing rosters and details on the game in advance.


One Thought on “Wyoming, Nebraska six-man teams to meet in Chadron for 8th Six-man Shootout

  1. Pingback: Wyoming wins Six-man Shootout on last play, beats Nebraska – WHSFB HQ — The Wyoming high school football blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post Navigation