The 2012 Wyoming Coaches Association all-state football teams have been announced. You can check them out on the all-state page. If I have any names misspelled or classes wrong, please let me know via email ( or just leave a comment below.

Some highlights from the all-state selections:

Kaycee’s James Caro became just the second player in the past 40 years to be named to the all-state team four consecutive years. The only other Wyoming player to accomplish that feat in that time is Meeteetse’s Ty Barrus from 1987-90.

Three-time selections included Vince Sleep (Powell), Cisco Taylor (Lyman), Brigham Teichert (Cokeville) and Zach Eisenbarth (Southeast). All four players are seniors this year.

In addition to Caro and the four three-time selections, 44 other players were chosen as repeat selections. They included Joe Ash and Austen Motily (Cheyenne East), Dani Fischer (Gillette), Colter Bentley, Adam Britton, Dan Reese, Brecken Biggs and Josh Flanigan (Natrona), Collin Eisenman (Sheridan), Aaron Fenner (Buffalo), Ty Etchemendy (Douglas), Dan Probst (Green River), Tony Lujan, Garrett Lynch, Brendan Phister and Dewey Schwahn (Powell), T.J. Galey and Xavier Webb (Riverton), Scott Passini and Matt Wigglesworth (Big Horn), Luke Barron (Big Piney), J.D. Pittsley (Glenrock), Matt Archibald (Kemmerer), Dino Collins and Dylan Hultgren (Lovell), Bransen Bradshaw and Kyle Stokes (Lyman), Ty Borgialli, J.T. Harper and Billie Gordon (Newcastle), Christian Syverson (Thermopolis), Cody Nate (Cokeville), Colter Larson (Lusk), Waddie Love (Saratoga), Josh Thoren (Shoshoni), Wyatt Somsen and Colton Stees (Southeast), Jesse Hawk and Cody Flynn (Dubois), Rylie Richardson (Hanna), Cam Ray (Midwest), Cole Gourlay and Manuel Quinteros (Snake River) and Friscoe Erdahl (Ten Sleep).

Seven players — Lujan, Lynch and Phister (all Powell), Nate (Cokeville), Somsen and Stees (both Southeast) and Ray (Midwest) — could become three-time selections next season. All were juniors this year.

State champions led the way on every all-state team, as Natrona (13 players at 17 positions), Powell (nine players), Lyman (seven players), Southeast (seven players) and Dubois (seven players) each led their respective classifications in total selections; Cokeville tied Southeast with seven players in Class 1A 11-man.


Additionally, the Casper Star-Tribune named its 22nd annual Super 25 team this week. Selections are available here.

Lovell’s Dino Collins was named the Super 25 offensive player of the year, while Natrona’s Dan Reese was named the Super 25 defensive player of the year. The Super 25 coach of the year was Big Horn’s Michael McGuire.

McGuire was just the second coach to win Super 25 coach of the year honors in a year in which his team did not win the state championship, joining Shoshoni’s Harold Bailey, who won the award in 1994 after taking the Wranglers from a 1-7 record in 1993 to a 6-2 season in ’94. McGuire, in his first year with the Rams, led Big Horn to an undefeated regular season and a 10-1 record.


2 Thoughts on “2012 all-state, Super 25 football teams announced

  1. So I want to know; apparently two Lander players were chosen as honorable mention. One didn’t play after the first game and the other was kicked off for violations.
    Also, Southeast had a first team player who was probably their 3rd or 4th best player.
    I think either the Super 25 needs to include a coach from each classification to help with their research of it needs to go away. This is crazy! Players need to be chosen by the coaches input.

  2. Patrick on November 23, 2012 at 8:24 am said:


    When I was a part of the selection process, I contacted every coach in the state for nominations. Although I can’t speak to the specifics for the process now, I do know coach nominations still play a big role in how the team is picked.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post Navigation