A total of 73 football players from 20 different programs have been nominated for Wyoming’s scholar-athlete awards given by the Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation, the Wyoming Chapter announced in a news release Wednesday.

Nominees are seniors and have a GPA of at least 3.0.

From the list of 73 nominees, 10 will be chosen next month as finalists for the Wyoming Chapter’s top scholar-athlete award. Each of the 10 finalists earns a $1,200 college scholarship, while the winner earns an additional $1,200 scholarship. The winner will be decided by 40% football ability, 40% academic achievement and 20% on extracurriculars and work in their communities and schools.

The Wyoming Chapter gives out several other awards each year. Two University of Wyoming seniors will also be nominated and honored. Last year’s winner was Andrew Johnson from Cheyenne Central. Winners are usually honored at a banquet in March, although no banquet has been held the past two years due to COVID-19. A date for this year’s honors has yet to be set.

Nominated players include:

Big Horn: Josh Thompson.
Cheyenne East: Gavyn Aumiller, Gavin Goff, Matthew Jaquot, Landen LaRue, Brian Mead, Robert Pino, Cade Pugh, Kaleb Romero, Braxton Rosner, Tucker Smith, Floyd Tatum, Zaudan Wawhkyung, Landon Whitt.
Cody: Danny Becker, Kellon George, Drew Trotter, Jonathan Williams, Nathan Wilson.
Cokeville: Treyson Dayton.
Douglas: Jayden Archuleta, Kyle Logar, Rylan Wehr.
Encampment: Koye Gilbert.
Green River: Dylan Taylor.
Kemmerer: Matt McMillan, Tommy Skidmore.
Meeteetse: Dace Bennett, Jonathan Blessing, Kalvin Erickson.
Moorcroft: Zane Linder.
Natrona: Kaleb Borus, Braden Cantrell, William Garlick, Tyler Hill, Ashton Nash, Brendyn Nelson, Roman Overstreet, Kaeden Wilcox.
Pine Bluffs: Ty Sweeter.
Rock Springs: Brock Bider, Isaac Schoenfeld, Cadon Shaklee, Andrew Skorcz.
Sheridan: Carl Askins, Ezra Eckland Rich Hall, Matthew Ingalls, Cody Kilpatrick, Tyler Ormseth, Rudy Osborne, Brock Steel, Caden Steel, Jim Strobbe, Texas Tanner.
Shoshoni: Braeden Cash, Duke Gibbel.
Star Valley: Lucas Chappell.
Thermopolis: Wyatt McDermott.
Thunder Basin: Cade Ayers, Ryan Baker, Ethan Cox, Kolter DeKay, Justin Dennison, Isaiah Haliburton, McKale Hote, Ryan Jordan, Brandon Lanston, Aiden Mitchel, Caden Randall.
Wheatland: Rodee Brow, Jake Hicks, Kade Preuit.

Note: Post updated 9:44 a.m. MST Jan. 20 to include Hicks and Preuit on Wheatland’s list, who were unintentionally omitted from the original list of nominees sent out. This changes the total number of nominees to 73. … Post updated 11:06 p.m. MST Jan. 21 to correct Cade Pugh’s first name; the original list had the wrong name.


One Thought on “73 players nominated for NFF Wyoming Chapter honors

  1. Pingback: NFF Wyoming Chapter names award finalists – THE HQ — The Wyoming high school football blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post Navigation