Saratoga’s football coach has resigned and its 2018 season is in question due to a lack of players.

Saratoga activities director Greg Bartlett said via email Tuesday that if a full 11-man squad can’t be fielded, the Panthers would field a six-man team and try to secure games against nearby junior varsity squads. A final decision on Saratoga’s 2018 season will likely be made in the second week of July, Bartlett said.

Meanwhile, coach Kegan Willford, the Panthers’ coach the past two seasons, said via email early this week that he is no longer the head coach at Saratoga. It was unclear whether Willford resigned or was let go from the position; Willford did not respond to follow-up emails.

Saratoga went 3-7 last season and lost to eventual Class 1A 11-man champion Pine Bluffs 58-0 in the first round of the playoffs.

Saratoga played in the Class 1A six-man division for one season, in 2013. The Panthers have fielded a team every season since 1955, occasionally fielding eight-man or nine-man teams.

Of the 21 players listed on the Saratoga roster from last season, seven were seniors.


Team Wyoming topped Team Nebraska 16-14 on Saturday in Albion, Nebraska, in the seventh annual Six-man Shootout.

Kaycee’s Danny Ramirez scored both touchdowns for Wyoming, one on a 43-yard run in the second quarter and another on a 35-yard interception return in the third quarter. Ramirez was the game’s offensive MVP.

Mark Largent of Kaycee added a fourth-quarter safety.

Nebraska scored all 14 of its points in the third quarter. Nebraska’s Garrett Egger, of Cody-Kilgore, who recovered a fumble in the end zone for one of the scores, was the defensive MVP.

Wyoming now leads the all-time series 4-3.

Next year’s game will be hosted by the 2018 Wyoming six-man state champion.


The seventh annual Six-man Shootout game, pitting the best six-man players from Wyoming and Nebraska in an interstate showdown, will be played Saturday.

The game is set for a 2 p.m. kickoff in Albion, Nebraska.

The Wyoming roster includes:

BURLINGTON: Tallon Wiles.
DUBOIS: Matt Codevilla.
FARSON: Cruz Lucero.
HULETT: Josh Stevens.
KAYCEE: Brice Austin; Hunter Elmer; Atticus Garrett; Mark Largent; Danny Ramirez.
MEETEETSE: Braenn Smith.
MIDWEST: Kayden Best; William Chapman.
RIVERSIDE: Justen Miller.
SNAKE RIVER: J.D. Corson; Kameron Evans; Trenton Jeannerett; Tyler Jensen.
Coaches: Tony Rouse, Kaycee, head coach; Trent Aagard, Burlington; Ken Swieter, Midwest; Jason Humble, Kaycee.

The Nebraska roster includes Issac Buitron of Arthur County; Brody Davis and Garrett Egger of Cody-Kilgore; Derrick Buescher of Deshler; Caleb Werger of Elwood; Tyler Wall of Hampton; Austin Bell, Jaydan Callahan and Tycker Scherbarth of Harvard; Trystin Gielssen of Hyannis; Riley Swerczek of Riverside; Mark Thurston of Silver Lake; and Dan Carraher, Paul Diessner and Spencer Leslie of Spalding Academy. The coaches are head coach Joe Imus of Riverside and assistants Troy Kleffner of Spalding Academy, Landon Miller of Cody-Kilgore and Scott Trimble of Harvard.

The series is tied at 3-3, but Nebraska has won the last three games, including last year’s game 58-38.


Eli Moody, a Lovell native who played football at Wyoming, has been hired as the head football coach at Greybull.

Greybull AD Nolan Tracy verified Moody’s hiring in an email to on Thursday.

Moody graduated from Lovell in 2012; he first attended Rocky Mountain College before transferring to UW. He was a PE teacher at Stagecoach Elementary in Rock Springs this year.

Other Wyoming schools with new head coaches, or with vacant head coaching spots, include Class 4A Cheyenne Central and Sheridan, Class 3A Green RiverLanderPowell and Rawlins, Class 2A BurnsLovellMoorcroft and Wheatland and Class 1A 11-man Big Horn. If you know of other coaching hirings or resignations statewide, please email me at


Clayton McSpadden will be the new football coach at Rawlins.

Rawlins AD Sandy Jebens confirmed via email to on Monday that McSpadden — a 2009 Rawlins High graduate — will be the program’s head coach. McSpadden’s hiring was confirmed by the Carbon County School District No. 1 board on Thursday.

McSpadden was also hired to teach PE at Rawlins High School, the board meeting agenda showed.

McSpadden was a Shrine Bowl selection for Rawlins and played football collegiately at Black Hills State.

He replaces Corey Wheeler, who resigned in May after four seasons as the Outlaws’ head coach. Rawlins finished 7-3 last season, its first winning season since 2000.

Other Wyoming schools with new head coaches, or with vacant head coaching spots, include Class 4A Cheyenne Central and Sheridan, Class 3A Green RiverLander and Powell, Class 2A Burns, Greybull, Lovell, Moorcroft and Wheatland and Class 1A 11-man Big Horn. If you know of other coaching hirings or resignations statewide, please email me at


The North continued its recent streak of dominance in the Wyoming Shrine Bowl, using two second-half touchdowns to beat the South 13-7 Saturday in the 45th annual all-star football game in Casper.

Aaron Sessions of Sheridan, whose 84-yard interception return for a touchdown in the third quarter gave the North its first points, was named the game’s defensive MVP.

Riley Hill of Greybull, who scored the game-winning touchdown with a 1-yard quarterback sneak in the fourth quarter, was the offensive MVP. He completed six of eight passes for 72 yards and also ran for 22 yards.

Star Valley’s Josh Dawson scored the lone touchdown for the South on an 8-yard run in the first quarter.

The North won the Shrine Bowl for the sixth consecutive year. The North leads the all-time series 24-18-3.


The wait is over for the Shrine Bowl annual all-star football game.

The 45th annual game between Wyoming’s best graduating high school football players, organized into North and South teams, will be at 2 p.m. Saturday at Cheney Alumni Field in Casper.

The North has won five consecutive Shrine Bowls and won last year’s game 49-7. The North leads the all-time series 23-18-3. Scores of previous Shrine Bowl games are available here.

Players and coaches involved in this year’s game include:

BIG PINEY: Chancy Hunt; Jake Pape.
CHEYENNE CENTRAL: Riley Boltz; Niko Bostic; Adarius Gallon.
CHEYENNE EAST: Ethan Ashworth; Gunner Bartlett; Noah James; Mat Semler.
COKEVILLE: Rick Nate; Antheny Petersen.
DOUGLAS: Michael Yeaman.
EVANSTON: Blake Overy.
GLENROCK: Richard Harris; Jadon Williams.
GREEN RIVER: Candon Croft; Chance Hofer; Devin Love; Cole White.
LARAMIE: Frank Crum; Garrett Worden.
LYMAN: Beaudee Bluemel.
MOUNTAIN VIEW: Jonathan Anderson; Trevon Peterson; Jason Stoddard.
PINE BLUFFS: Haize Fornstrom; Wyatt Fornstrom.
RAWLINS: Bryce Jerome.
ROCK SPRINGS: Bryan Mattinson.
STAR VALLEY: Hunter Cranney; Josh Dawson; Payton Erickson; Ronnie Kaye.
TORRINGTON: Nathan Stitt; Jacob Wamboldt.
Coaches: McKay Young, Star Valley (head coach); Nicc Crosby, Star Valley; Jesse Blunn, Cheyenne East; Cody Peacock, Lyman; Brian Anderson, Pine Bluffs; Jack Cobb, Snake River.

BUFFALO: Devin Matthews; Ray Rabou.
CODY: Ian Crawford; Jacob Deardorff; Matt Skinner.
GREYBULL: Brayan Castro; Riley Hill.
KAYCEE: Mark Largent; Danny Ramirez.
KELLY WALSH: Joey Geil; Caige McComb; Logan Neuroth.
LOVELL: Porter Nichols.
MOORCROFT: Solomon Petz.
NATRONA: Brett Brenton; Jesse Harshman; Wes Rice; Riley Shepperson; Danny Slack.
NEWCASTLE: Cameron Quigley.
POWELL: Brooks Asher; Max Gallagher.
RIVERTON: Jaren Draper; Brodie Roden.
ROCKY MOUNTAIN: Tristan Jewell.
SHERIDAN: Blayne Baker; Kyle Custis; Conner Jorgenson; Aaron Sessions.
THERMOPOLIS: Noah Schwalbe.
THUNDER BASIN: Austin Clemetson; Keaton Wilkerson; Coleman Worsley.
WORLAND: JR Hofmann; Matthew Sanchez.
WRIGHT: Steven Monson.
Coaches: Marty Wrage, Greybull (head coach); Jeff Hunt, Greybull; Steve Harshman, Natrona; Matt McFadden, Cody; Larry Yeradi, Wright; Boz Backen, Hulett.