The Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation has named 10 Wyoming high school football players as finalists for the state’s top football scholar-athlete award.

The winner of the award will be announced at the chapter’s annual banquet, which will be March 16 in Laramie, a release from event organizers sent out Friday said.

In addition, two University of Wyoming football players will be honored as scholar-athletes, while three other high school players will receive other awards from the chapter. Nine others will receive awards recognizing contributions in coaching, officiating and supporting football across the state.

Finalists include Natrona’s Jordan Bertagnole; Sheridan’s Parker Christensen; Pine Bluffs’ Hunter Jeffres; Farson’s Clancy Gines and Lain Mitchelson; Buffalo’s Luke Glassock; Wheatland’s Clayton Iacovetto; Riverton’s Treyton Paxton; Lander’s Conrad Swenson; and Big Horn’s Kade VanDyken. One player will be chosen to win the state’s top scholar-athlete award and represent Wyoming with a chance to win national recognition.

In all, 130 players were nominated for the award.

The banquet will include three speakers — NFF Director of Membership Ron Dilatush and former scholar-athlete award winners Dr. Justin Hopkin of Burlington (now Lander) and Gavin Mills of Powell.

Now in its 25th year, the Wyoming Chapter has awarded almost $370,000 in scholarships since its inception, with $19,200 in scholarships scheduled to be awarded March 16, the release said.

Other award recipients will include:
UW Scholar-Athlete Awards: Nico Evans, Adam Pilapil
Courage Award: Wes Eyre, Lyman
Perseverance Award: Roberto Hernandez, St. Stephens; Kolby Pisciotti, Newcastle
Greatest UW Football Fan: Roy C. Miller, Laramie/Cheyenne
Greatest High School Football Fan: Deb Jacobs, Powell; Doug Potter, Green River
Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football: Pete and Linda Haman, Douglas; Eric Worden, Laramie
Ox Zellner Football Official Career Achievement: Bryon Mowry, Casper
Coaching Career Achievement: Tyrone Fittje, Casper; Bill Pentland, Wheatland


One Thought on “NFF Wyoming Chapter names scholar-athlete award finalists for 2018

  1. Pingback: Big Horn’s VanDyken named top scholar-athlete | WHSFB HQ — The Wyoming high school football blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post Navigation