Winners of the 2017 football scholar-athlete awards presented by the Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation pose for a photo Saturday, March 22, 2018, during the awards ceremony in Laramie. Photo courtesy Ernie Over.

Upton’s Dawson Butts and Newcastle’s Cameron Quigley earned the honor of the state’s top football scholar-athletes from the Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation.

The pair shared the honor during a ceremony Saturday in Laramie. Other finalists for the award included Sheridan’s Blayne Baker; Natrona’s Brett Brenton; Snake River’s J.D. Corson; Sheridan’s Kyle Custis; Pine Bluffs’ Wyatt Fornstrom; Green River’s Chance Hofer; Kaycee’s Mark Largent; Glenrock’s Hezekiah (Kia) Sexson; and Torrington’s Jake Wamboldt.

UW’s Dalton Fields and Drew Van Maanen were also honored.

Other award winners were:

Courage Award: Kaden Malm, Southeast; Kaiden Burk, Wind River.

Perseverance Award: Clayton Auzqui, Buffalo.

Greatest UW Football Fan: Warren Benson, Laramie; Tom and Jill Bramlet, Wheatland.

Greatest High School Football Fan: Stan Thompson, Cokeville.

Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football: Trish Williams, Casper; David Anderson, Lingle.

Ox Zellner Football Official Career Achievement Award: Joe Doak, Thermopolis; Joe White, Lovell.

Football Coach Career Achievement Award: Jeff Barnett, Douglas; Pat O’Connor, Torrington; Bruce Keith, Montrose, Colorado (formerly of Wyoming).

Together, more than $20,000 in scholarships was awarded Saturday. Keynote speakers were UW defensive line coach Pete Kaligas and former Sheridan coach Don Julian.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post Navigation