Two head coaches who led their teams to state championships were named the head coaches for the 50th Shrine Bowl all-star football game.

McKay Young, who led Star Valley to the Class 3A championship in November, will lead the South team, while Kirk McLaughlin, whose Big Horn team won the Class 2A title, will be the head coach for the North.

The announcement was made Monday night in an email release from Frank Selby, the Wyoming Shrine Bowl’s executive director.

The game will be played June 10 in Casper.

The head coaches will work to an assemble a staff of coaches from around the state, who will then choose players for each team.

Young was previously the South’s head coach in 2018. This is McLaughlin’s first Shrine Bowl head coaching selection.

With the first Shrine Bowl game played in Laramie in 1974, the 2023 game will mark the 50th edition of the game in Wyoming. The North leads the all-time series 26-19-3 and won last year’s game 37-3.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post Navigation