When the Wyoming High School Activities Association handed nonconference football scheduling back to individual schools, reducing travel was the goal.

The schools came through on that end — big time.

A breakdown of the 2017 schedule shows travel is going to be down. WAY down.

The average Wyoming high school football road game trip this year, one way, is going to be more than 20 miles shorter than it was last year. And the average nonconference trip, one way, is going to be 70 miles shorter than it was last year. Even one-way mileage for conference games is down:

  • Average one-way trip for all games: 175 miles, down from 196 last year
  • Average one-way trip for conference games: 183 miles, down from 189 last year
  • Average one-way trip for nonconference games: 147 miles, down from 217 last year

Meanwhile, the median one-way nonconference trip this season will be 137 miles; the median one-way trip in 2016 was 221 miles.

In part, this is because some of the absurdly long trips teams made have also been pared down. In 2016, seven games had one-way trips of more than 400 miles; in 2017, only one game (the ridiculous Torrington-Star Valley game) is more than 400 miles one way.

Also, shorter trips are more numerous. Last season, 24 games had one-way trips of 50 miles or less; this year, 34 such games are scheduled.

A big reason for the mileage reduction is schools’ ability to schedule sub-varsity games in nonconference weeks. Five schools, so far, have taken advantage of that opportunity, and more may do so before the season starts in August.

Another thing that helped reduce the longest trips was Evanston’s move from 4A to 3A, which eliminated the Red Devils’ trips to, or their opponents’ trips from, Gillette and Sheridan — traditionally the longest trips on the Wyoming high school football schedule regardless of classification.

The reduced travel comes with tradeoffs, though.

Namely, eight schools don’t have full schedules. Rocky Mountain, Tongue River, Powell, Evanston, Cody and Wright all tentatively have bye weeks scheduled; Rocky Mountain actually has two open weeks, back-to-back, right now. Also, Riverton and Douglas have a scrimmage scheduled for the opening week of the season, which is far from ideal. No one had a scheduled open week last season.

We’ve seen that competitive equity scheduling increased travel but decreased competitiveness. Those trends continued in both 2015 and 2016. Maybe 2017 will bring us closer games AND reduced travel. For eight programs, though, the tradeoff might be one (or more) Friday night on the couch instead of on the field.

How mileage was calculated: Using Google Maps directions, distances from city to city were calculated for each game of the 2016 season and each scheduled game for the 2017 season. Scrimmages and jamborees were not considered. Games involving Upton-Sundance used the closer of the two schools for road games and the actual site for home games. Travel went “through the park” via Yellowstone when possible. Google Maps’ suggestions were used unless a shorter mileage option that did not significantly add to travel time (15 minutes or more) was available.


Big Horn’s Nolan McCafferty was named the state’s to football scholar-athlete in Wyoming for 2016 by the Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation.

McCafferty was one of 12 finalists for this award, which was handed out Saturday in Laramie.

McCafferty was awarded $2,400 in total scholarships; each of the other finalists earned $1,200.


The Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame will recognize its scholar-athlete choices for 2016 in a ceremony Saturday in Laramie.

Each of the finalists earns a $1,200 scholarship, while the top scholar-athlete earns an additional $1,200 scholarship. The top scholar-athlete will represent Wyoming at the regional level.

This year’s finalists are Dalton Abarr from Meeteetse; Garrett Cooper from Lingle; Garrett Vezain from Rocky Mountain; Brennan Kutterer from Tongue River; Nolan McCafferty and Andrew Ratty from Big Horn; Ty Larson from Douglas; T.J. Abraham from Powell; McCabe Smith from Star Valley; Lane Tucker from Gillette; Coy Steel from Sheridan; and Caleb Price from Cheyenne South.

The Wyoming Chapter will also hand out several special awards, including:

Keith and Joyce Bloom Courage Award: Skyler Dillon-Bennett, Tongue River
Perseverance Award: Zach Hoopman, Douglas
Greatest UW Football Fan: Jim Moore, Douglas; Tim Roberts, Worland
Greatest High School Football Fan: Wes Grussendorf, Casper; Rusty Jones, Wright
Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football: John Cundall; John Pine, Sheridan
Ox Zellner Official Career Achievement Award: Keith Gemar, Gillette
Junior High Coaching Career Achievement Award: Gary Jahnke, Gillette
High School Football Career Coaching Achievement Award: Gary Glenn, Douglas; Brick Cegelski, Cheyenne

Previous award winners are available at the group’s website.


Jim Craig provided some valuable help for some games involving Powell and some all-state help. Here’s the updates I made thanks to his help:

Added two games to Powell’s 1945 season: a 6-6 tie with Columbus, Mont., on Sept. 8 in Powell, and an 18-0 victory against Laurel on Sept. 14-15 in Laurel (added to missing games list because an exact date couldn’t be pinned down).

Added Powell’s 7-2 loss to Laurel, Mont., on Sept. 12, 1947, in Laurel.

Corrected the score for Lovell’s 14-6 victory against Powell on Sept. 23, 1949; I had the score reversed, with Powell winning.

Added the first name and corrected the team for Laramie’s Dick Cox, a second-team all-state choice in 1951; he was previously listed with Rawlins, which was incorrect.

(Short track aside: He also found the last missing state track champion on my lists, the 1979 girls Class C 4×1 champion — Ten Sleep. Their title and time was added to the list.)

Through some of my own research, I also made these updates:

Found the location for the game between Meeteetse and Joliet, Mont., on Oct. 14, 2002; it was in Joliet.

Found the score for Deaver-Frannie’s 49-6 loss to the Billings West, Mont., JV on Oct. 26, 1962.

All the updates have been made on all the relevant pages.