Cody assistant coach Matt McFadden has been promoted to head coach, the Cody Enterprise reported.

McFadden was the Broncs’ defensive coordinator last season.

For an ongoing list of Wyoming football coaching changes, click here.


The Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation has named its award finalists for 2012.

Twelve Wyoming high school football players and two from the University of Wyoming will be honored during the group’s banquet on March 16 in Laramie. An additional 15 special award winners will also be honored.

This year’s finalists include Meeteetse’s Clayton Webster; Kaycee’s James Caro; Saratoga’s Waddie Love; Southeast’s Zach Eisenbarth; Lusk’s Colter Larson; Lovell’s Cody Savage and Dino Collins; Torrington’s Nick Prusia; Douglas’ Ty Etchemendy; Powell’s Vince Sleep; Cheyenne East’s Austen Motily; and Natrona’s Brecken Biggs.

From this group, one winner will be chosen to represent Wyoming at the national level.

UW seniors Nick Carlson and Luke Ruff will also be honored.

Special award winners include:

Keith and Joyce Bloom Courage Award: Jacob McGarvin, Worland.
Perseverance Award: Ryder Bishop, Burns.
Greatest UW Football Fans: John “Jack” and Marilyn Newman, Laramie, and E. Dean “Doc” and Karen Schroeder, Cheyenne.
Greatest High School Football Fans: Darwin Dunn, Savery, and Eileen “Boots” Snyder, Worland.
Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football: Alan Dugan, Glenrock, and Dan Kelly, Casper.
Ox Zellner Football Official Career Achievement Award: John Schutterle, Laramie.
Football Coach Career Achievement Award: Gil Bradfield, Laramie; Walter Gray, Dayton (Tongue River); and Barry Miller, Torrington (Southeast/Goshen Hole).

Former Wheatland and UW quarterback Casey Bramlet will be the keynote speaker.